

Nominating Committee Meeting Minutes – August 20, 2020

Zoom Call (Kirsten Lindquist/Cheri Strong met in person to count ballots via Zoom)

Present

Board: Kirsten Lindquist (NC Chair), Cheri Strong, James Kloor, Laura Wright

Staff: Emily Walter, Margaret Sataua, Thomas Wehland, Sean Nolan

Members: Pamela Lee, Ahmed Foggie,

1. Welcome and Review

The meeting commenced at 6:03pm by Kirsten.

2. Approve Minutes

Consensus to approve the July 2020 Nominating Committee minutes.

3. Board Applications

The Membership Coordinator confirmed that all three board applicants are board members.

Motion: Approve Ahmed Foggie, Pamela Lee and David Dahler as board candidates. Approved by consensus.

4. Employee Election

Kirsten and Cheri counted the employee ballots aloud to Zoom participants. A total of 35 employee cast ballots.

Cast Votes: Thomas Wehland: 34 Alisha Hammer: 1

Thomas Wehland was nominated as the employee board representative and will be put on the election ballot for ratification by the membership.

5. General Election

Discussed an online voting proposal and how online votes would be counted along with paper ballots.

The committee decided to do the general election count on Saturday, October 17, 9am at the Jefferson Center in Eureka. The count will be conducted by the nominating committee with a limited number in attendance for safety.

Motion: Authorize staff to create an online voting platform for the 2020 election Motion by James, 2^{nd} from Laura, motion approved (4/0/0)

6. Election Ballot

The election guidelines will include Bylaws change proposal, candidate statements, and explanation of online voting and why we encourage people to use it.

7. Agreements

- The Co-op will use online and paper ballots for the 2020 election.
- Online vote member verification (not counting) will be conducted by staff following the conclusion of the election and prior to Oct. 17 paper ballot counting.

Next meeting October 17 at 9am – Jefferson Center Eureka/Zoom

8. Next Agenda Items

- Board Orientation
- Count the general ballot votes.

Meeting adjourned at 7:09pm *Minutes by Emily Walter*